WEST BENGAL STATE ELECTION COMMISSION

18, Sarojini Naidu Sarani (Rawdon Street) Kolkata – 700 017 Ph No. 2280-5805; Tele FAX- 2289-2320

No. 184-SEC/1E-80/2012

Date: 13.02.2013

ORDER

I have gone through the letter no. 209/PRD/XXIII-11/2013 dated 12.02.2013 of the Additional District Magistrate, Purba Medinipur.

- 2. The number of offices of Pradhan to be reserved for Scheduled Caste category as determined under clause (a) of sub-rule (1) of rule 2A of the West Bengal Panchayat (Constitution) Rules, 1975 is 33. Out of 148 Gram Panchayats in the District of Purba Medinipur, the offices of the Pradhan have been reserved for Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes, Backward Classes, Scheduled Caste Women, Scheduled Tribe Women, Backward Classes Women and Women in general category in 147 Gram Panchayats. Another one office of Gram Panchayat is also required to be reserved for Scheduled Caste. There are 75 number of offices of Gram Panchayats available for reservation of Upa-Pradhan after exclusion of the grams where offices of the Pradhan have to be reserved for the 1st term of election.
- 3. Out of 148 Gram Panchayats 147 Gram Panchayats have more than 5% SC population. In Kakhardah GP where percentage is 4.46 (i.e. below 5%) also required to be reserved for Pradhan as Scheduled Caste.
- 4. Out of 75 Gram Panchayats which are available for reservation of the offices of Upa-Pradhan, one office of Upa-Pradhans have been reserved for Scheduled Tribes and 33 Gram Panchayats have to be reserved for SC and one Gram Panchayat for BC Category out of 39 offices. But only 31 Gram Panchayats out of 33 have more than 5% of the total population in the district of Purba Medinipur and the offices of Upa-Pradhans have also been reserved for Scheduled Castes in those 31 Gram Panchayats accordingly. The remaining two Gram Panchayats where SC population is less than 5% (i.e. 4.87 and 3.01) namely Raghunathpur-II

Gram Panchayat under Sahid Matangini Block, and Kumarara under Nanadakumar Block where two seats / constituencies are available for the said category and reservation of offices of Upa-Pradhan can be reserved for SC category and one Gram Panchayat where BC population is below 5% (i.e.4.11) namely Chak-Simulia under Nandakumar Block can also be reserved for Backward Classes in pursuance of Rule 2A(2)(vii) of the West Bengal Panchayat

5. In the above circumstances, in exercise of the powers conferred by Section 4(1) of the West Bengal State Election Commission Act, 1994 read with rule 2A(2)(vii) of the West Bengal Panchayat(Constitution) Rules, 1975, I hereby order that the office of the Pradhan of Kakhardah Gram Panchayat under Sahid-Matangini Block and the offices of Upa-Pradhan of Raghunathpur-II and Kumarara Gram Panchayats under Sahid-Matangini and Nandakumar Blocks shall be reserved for the Scheduled Caste and the offices of Upa-Pradhan of Chak-Simulia under Nandakumar Block shall be reserved for Backward Classes for the 1st term of election to be held in 2013.

This disposes of the memo 209/PRD/XXIII-11/2013 dated 12.02.2013 of the Additional District Magistrate, Purba Medinipur.

This order may be communicated to the District Magistrate & District Panchayat Election Officer concerned for taking further course of action.

Sd/ Mira Pande State Election Commissioner West Bengal State Election Commission

Date:13.02.2013

No. 184/1-SEC/1E-80/2012

(Constitution) Rules, 1975.

Copy of the order is forwarded to the District Magistrate, Purba Medinipurfor information and necessary action.

(TAPAS RAY)

Secretary West Bengal State Election Commission